Edenton and Chowan County Named Official Retirement Community

Edenton and Chowan County Named Official Retirement Community
EDENTON, NC — The North Carolina Department of Commerce announced Edenton has been designated a Certified Retirement Community. The General Assembly established the program in 2008 to designate communities that offer unprecedented quality of living that is desirable to retirees.
“This designation will be a valuable economic development tool for Edenton and their residents,” said Commerce Secretary Sharon Decker. “The people of Edenton recognize the valuable contributions that retirees can make to enhance their community.” 
“North Carolina is experiencing a healthy in-migration of retirees to the state, and this program aims to attract retirees and persuade them to put down roots here,” said Wit Tuttell, executive director of the Commerce Department’s Division of Tourism, Film & Sports Development. 
To gain certification, a local government must submit an application that includes a comprehensive community survey and assessment tool that spans numerous dimensions reflecting the town’s readiness for retiree attraction. Ratings criteria include: 
·         Demographics
·         Housing/technology
·         Healthcare
·         Local economy
·         Leisure/cultural opportunities
·         Services for retirees
·         Community/education/military

"We are both excited and honored to be one of North Carolina's Certified Retirement Communities and look forward to the many opportunities the program will bring to Edenton and Chowan County as we continue to embrace folks looking for a new community in which to spend their retirement years,” said Roland Vaughan, mayor of Edenton.  “Edenton has those amenities, both tangible and intangible, to deliver a quality of life that is desired by many when looking for a new home. Our door is always open."
Edenton submitted an application in January 2014.  Edenton is noted for its many local amenities that are attractive to retirees. Communities with this official designation receive marketing and promotion assistance from the N.C. Division of Tourism, Film, & Sports Development. 
Edenton joins North Carolina previously named cities as Certified Retirement Communities: Lumberton, Asheboro, Marion, Sanford, Mount Airy, Pittsboro, Eden and Tarboro. 
The N.C. General Assembly, during the 2008 short session, recognized the inherent abundance of quality living that the state offers and established the N.C. Certified Retirement Community Program (S.B. 1627) as a vehicle to designate communities that offer this unprecedented, quality of living that is sought by the mature community.

Nancy Nicholls
Chowan County TDA
PO Box 245
Edenton NC  27932
Edenton and Chowan County Named Official Retirement Community Edenton and Chowan County Named Official Retirement Community Reviewed by kensunm on 7:58:00 PM Rating: 5

No comments:

Copyright AlbemarleTradewinds. Theme images by merrymoonmary. Powered by Blogger.